<rss version="2.0">
		<channel>
			<title>OpenDNS Forums - www.ebay.pl recognised as Botnet</title>
			<lastBuildDate>Sat, 25 May 2013 01:38:14 +0000</lastBuildDate>
			<link>http://forums.opendns.com/</link>
			<description></description>
			<generator>Lussumo Vanilla 1.1.4</generator>
			<item>
		<title>www.ebay.pl recognised as Botnet</title>
		<link>http://forums.opendns.com/comments.php?DiscussionID=13443&amp;Focus=77101#Comment_77101</link>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://forums.opendns.com/comments.php?DiscussionID=13443&amp;Focus=77101#Comment_77101</guid>
		<pubDate>Fri, 24 Feb 2012 10:49:31 +0000</pubDate>
		<author>cohech</author>
		<description>
			<![CDATA[I recently open my OpenDNS dashboard to find account web page and noticed a "Malware/Botnet Activity Detected" message.  On clicking on the stats link it shows "www.ebay.pl" made one request and was blocked by OpenDNS as a botnet.<br /> <br />I was the only person using this network on the day the block occurred and I did not actively access this site, so I don't understand where the request was initiated from.<br /> <br />Additionally, the site appears to be the Polish eBay site and therefore unlikely to be a botnet.<br /> <br />Is this block a false positive or am I missing something?]]>
		</description>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>www.ebay.pl recognised as Botnet</title>
		<link>http://forums.opendns.com/comments.php?DiscussionID=13443&amp;Focus=77119#Comment_77119</link>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://forums.opendns.com/comments.php?DiscussionID=13443&amp;Focus=77119#Comment_77119</guid>
		<pubDate>Fri, 24 Feb 2012 18:14:58 +0000</pubDate>
		<author>Red Prince</author>
		<description>
			<![CDATA[&gt;&gt;I did not actively access this site&lt;&lt;<br /><br />That makes no difference. There is a lot more to the Internet than web sites. Any number of programs running on your system can (and many do) access the Internet without even letting you know. Even some web browsers prefetch domain names of the links on a page you are accessing, just so they have that information ready if you decide to click on the link.<br /><br />So, just because you did not actively access a site does not mean a domain could not be looked up by a process running on your computer.<br /><br />As for eBay, Polish or otherwise, it is not unthinkable that someone may have figured out to get malware on one of its many pages.]]>
		</description>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>www.ebay.pl recognised as Botnet</title>
		<link>http://forums.opendns.com/comments.php?DiscussionID=13443&amp;Focus=77157#Comment_77157</link>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://forums.opendns.com/comments.php?DiscussionID=13443&amp;Focus=77157#Comment_77157</guid>
		<pubDate>Sat, 25 Feb 2012 10:09:30 +0000</pubDate>
		<author>Brian Gregory</author>
		<description>
			<![CDATA[I think if the reported activity is only one or two real websites it's safe to assume a false positive.]]>
		</description>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>www.ebay.pl recognised as Botnet</title>
		<link>http://forums.opendns.com/comments.php?DiscussionID=13443&amp;Focus=77179#Comment_77179</link>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://forums.opendns.com/comments.php?DiscussionID=13443&amp;Focus=77179#Comment_77179</guid>
		<pubDate>Sat, 25 Feb 2012 14:03:28 +0000</pubDate>
		<author>rotblitz</author>
		<description>
			<![CDATA["Is this block a false positive or am I missing something?"<br /><br />Hmm, it is no longer blocked:<br />nslookup www.ebay.pl. 208.67.222.222<br />Server:  resolver1.opendns.com<br />Address:  208.67.222.222<br /><br />Nicht autorisierte Antwort:<br />Name:    www.intl.ebay.com<br />Addresses:  66.135.200.182, 66.135.210.62, 66.135.210.182, 66.211.181.162<br />          66.211.181.182, 66.135.200.162<br />Aliases:  www.ebay.pl<br /><br />"I was the only person using this network on the day the block occurred and I did not actively access this site"<br /><br />For more insights you may want to read this then: <a href="http://forums.opendns.com/comments.php?DiscussionID=13451" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">http://forums.opendns.com/comments.php?DiscussionID=13451</a>]]>
		</description>
	</item>
	
		</channel>
	</rss>