Your IP:

Our Forums Have Moved!

Visit our new forums at http://community.opendns.com/forums/ to post on topics and read the latest content. These forums are now read-only archives.

K-12 Forums

Talk with other K-12 network administrators in your state.

Or see all states.

Categories

Vanilla 1.1.4 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

This discussion has been inactive for longer than 30 days, and is thus closed.
    • CommentAuthorstarkeef
    • CommentTimeJul 22nd 2012
    I am new to Open DNS and have a Surfboard 6121 Modem and an Airport Extreme running Airport Utility 6.1. I get my service through Comcast. Since I installed Open DNS my router changed from 'DHCP' Only to 'DHCP and NAT'. My internet works, but from time to time it will stop and I get the message 'Double NAT'. I have flushed the cache as recommended through Open DNS. But that doesn't seem to have solved the problem. Do I need to set the Router Mode to 'DHCP Only' or 'Off'?
  1.  permalink
    Turn off DHCP at the surfboard and give the Airport a static IP if it doesn't default to it's current one. Let the Airport be the DHCP server for the network.

See this current post about what an Airport user did to set up the network:
    https://forums.opendns.com/comments.php?DiscussionID=15093&page=1#Item_5
    • CommentAuthorstarkeef
    • CommentTimeJul 23rd 2012
    Okay, but I'm not sure how to turn off DHCP at the Surfboard 6121. I can get into the config area but it doesn't look as though there is any user configuration available. Maybe I just don't know where to look.
  2.  permalink
    Yeah, I certainly wouldn't know where to look, or if any options are available. When ISPs provide hardware, it almost never even has the options available on a non-re-branded standard version from the equipment vendor.