OpenDNS Forums
The official support and discussion site of OpenDNS
Support
K-12 Forums
Categories
- Administrative
- Adult site blocking
- DNS-O-Matic / dynamic IPs
- Domain blocking
- Domain Name System (DNS) troubles
- Mobile instructions
- OpenDNS services
- Proxies, accelerators, and more
- Router instructions
- Satellite
- Shortcuts
- Wishlists and feature requests
-
Feeds
Vanilla 1.1.4 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.
This discussion has been inactive for longer than 30 days, and is thus closed.
-
- CommentAuthorboomerang1
- CommentTimeAug 15th 2012 edited
why can't I block overture.com? Some sort of technical hacking going on? Why does that domain get special treatment? -
- CommentAuthormaintenance
- CommentTimeAug 15th 2012
Hacking. It's always hacking.
What did you enter into the block list? You flushed caches afterward? And you IP is updated correctly to your Dashboard without errors? -
As far as I recall, Overture is a business partner of OpenDNS where they obtain the ad side of the business from. Same as you can't block OpenDNS or Yahoo, you can't block Overture (which is part of Yahoo).
Try with blocking advertising.yahoo.com.
You can block it with dozens of other methods however. -
- CommentAuthormaintenance
- CommentTimeAug 15th 2012
Oh, that is one on those domains, isn't it? I never ran into that one before.
1 to 4 of 4
This discussion has been inactive for longer than 30 days, and is thus closed.