Sign in or Create account

Your current IP is 38.107.191.96.

 

K-12 Forums

Talk with other K-12 network administrators in your state.

Or see all states.

Categories

Vanilla 1.1.4 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

This discussion has been inactive for longer than 30 days, and is thus closed.
    • CommentAuthorarp059
    • CommentTimeJul 13th 2009
     permalink
    Hello All,

    I want an immediate attention from all users / moderators / admins on this thread.

    I am the owner of website at http://www.techpavan.com which is now blocked for NO REASON.

    My website is a clean technology weblog with a number of visitors and regular readers. If you can check it from google cache or without open dns, you will understand how my website is.

    Currently my website is blocked as Proxy / Anonymizer from Open DNS which is a result of fine (?) folks at http://www.stbernard.com/ . I wonder what those fine folks were doing while they categorized a clean website into proxy.

    Anyone else had same problem or experience with this may please help.

    One more help I expect from you users is that please visit this page: http://domain.opendns.com/techpavan.com and vote for the proper tag, just clicking YES.

    Hope the issue will be cleared soon.

    Thanks to everyone
    Pavan
    Thankful People: fatts
    • CommentAuthorarp059
    • CommentTimeJul 13th 2009
     permalink
    bump
  1.  permalink
    The only way your site would be blocked is if someone blocks proxy sites. Granted, yours isn't a proxy site, but there are ample instances of the word "proxy" so it's not a stretch to imagine why St. Bernard decided to classify you as such.

    It's perhaps a little disheartening, but were I interested in securing my network from people using proxies, I'd probably include blogs that include such titles as:

    http://www.techpavan.com/2008/09/25/free-dns-servers-access-blocked-websites/
    Thankful People: maintenance, arp059
    • CommentAuthormickey112
    • CommentTimeJul 13th 2009
     permalink
    Even this site is made of the word proxy many times, do they categorize this site as a proxy site? Check out how many times it uses the word proxy: http://www.google.com/search?q=proxy
    • CommentAuthorarp059
    • CommentTimeJul 13th 2009 edited
     permalink
    Hi,

    I do have "many" such posts related with proxy. But this does not make it a proxy website. This is a childish classification from St. Bernard. How can they behave such a wrong way. Also, look at mickey's comment, thinking that way, Google can be termed as every possible evil on this internet. If you key in porn, you will get results related with porn, so our Bernard will term google as porn, if you say weapon, google shows weapon, so google is a weapon site etc..

    Atleast this baseless classification should be left for sites which are established to some better extent. Bernard categorizes sites on such brainless basis and opendns terms them as "fine folks".

    Google itself is so generous to mail webmasters when a problem is found with established sites, but this St. Bernard or OpenDNS didn't. They would have sent a mail to generic domain ids like mail@domain.com, webmaster@domain.com, info@domain.com etc. But none of them did, simply blocked my site. Also, the blockage was not for those who block proxy sites, the block affected everyone. Even I don't block any category, but still my site was not accessible for me.

    This is a failure that the related admins and moderators should look into.

    Anyway, cindelicato, thanks for your response.

    Regards
    Pavan
    • CommentAuthorrajupp
    • CommentTimeJul 13th 2009
     permalink
    This is ridiculous way of working. This is one of the many reasons why I believe community driven censorship is bad for Internet. if OpenDNS do not have active mods, support staff to address issues faced by web-masters, you should not have facilities like domain tagging etc.
    Do not let OpenDNS to be a medium for troll.
    Thankful People: arp059
    • CommentAuthorRed Prince
    • CommentTimeJul 13th 2009
     permalink
    Since I do not block proxies, I can get to your site via OpenDNS just fine.

    As for St. Bernard, as far as I know OpenDNS simply uses their database but has no control over it, as St. Bernard is a completely separate company.

    I suggest you contact St. Bernard directly and ask them to correct the error. Though, past experience has shown that St. Bernard is one tough dog to move. But it is worth a try. And if it does not work, I'd say sue them!
    Thankful People: arp059
  2.  permalink
    ???????????
    unless someone removed it from Proxies/Anonymizers since this post, and I see nothing from Opendns saying that, techpavan.com and www.techpavan.com are only approved as Software/technology and havent even been submitted for Proxy... Software/Tech sounds correct...not sure of the Blogs/Social networking cats that it's been submitted to..
    http://domain.opendns.com/www.techpavan.com
    http://domain.opendns.com/techpavan.com
    Thankful People: arp059
  3.  permalink
    "This is ridiculous way of working. This is one of the many reasons why I believe community driven censorship is bad for Internet. if OpenDNS do not have active mods, support staff to address issues faced by web-masters, you should not have facilities like domain tagging etc.
    Do not let OpenDNS to be a medium for [B]troll.[/B] "

    Like you???? just as people can vote on categories they can also decide not to block them as well..
    •  
      CommentAuthorfatts
    • CommentTimeJul 13th 2009
     permalink
    Administrator
    St. Bernard has been notified of this mistake and it has since been corrected.

    Thanks for bringing this to our attention :)
    Thankful People: Red Prince, arp059
    • CommentAuthorarp059
    • CommentTimeJul 13th 2009
     permalink
    Thanks to all, finally I have got my site under right category.

    Here are the details if anyone is interested: http://www.techpavan.com/2009/07/14/website-blocked-opendns-wrong-category-unblocking-solutions/
    Hope my experience help someone in future...
    Thankful People: Red Prince

This discussion has been inactive for longer than 30 days, and is thus closed.