Your IP:

Our Forums Have Moved!

Visit our new forums at http://community.opendns.com/forums/ to post on topics and read the latest content. These forums are now read-only archives.

K-12 Forums

Talk with other K-12 network administrators in your state.

Or see all states.

Categories

Vanilla 1.1.4 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

This discussion has been inactive for longer than 30 days, and is thus closed.
    • CommentAuthorlt.kije
    • CommentTimeAug 22nd 2010 edited
    Hi everyone.

I am new to OpenDNS, and have a question about phishing domains that are pointed to by spoof email.

Today I received a very convincing amazon.com spoof that points to bestcomputerized.com which, according to whois.org, is registered in the Ukraine.

This domain turns up no results in the OpenDNS’ "check a domain" search.

PhishTank reports "Voting disabled" ("This suspected phishing site is unavailable, probably because its host removed it", which seems unlikely for a spoof I received to today.)

The domain is not blocked by OpenDNS

OpenDNS does not seem to support tagging domains ad “phishing” sites.

Can anyone offer any insight?

Thanks
  1.  permalink
    In the interest of clarity:

Spoofing: Faking the "From" email address.
    Spam: Unsolicited advertising.
    Phish: An attempt to get personal information, frequently banking or credit card information, for illegal use.

I don't see a phish on the page as shown at PhishTank, nor when loading the site itself. This is likely why voting is blocked for now. You may have received spam, even with an obfuscated link, but it is not phishing unless an attempt to get personal information for illegal use is made. If the phishing attempt is not made by bestcomputerized.com, then it would not be appropriate for bestcomputerized.com to be tagged as phishing.

"OpenDNS does not seem to support tagging domains ad “phishing” sites."