Your IP:

Our Forums Have Moved!

Visit our new forums at https://community.opendns.com/forums/ to post on topics and read the latest content. These forums are now read-only archives.

K-12 Forums

Talk with other K-12 network administrators in your state.

Or see all states.

Categories

Vanilla 1.1.4 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

This discussion has been inactive for longer than 30 days, and is thus closed.
  1.  permalink
    I'm a newbie here and trying to get DNS set up on my home computer...I have RoadRunner web services through Time Warner Cable and have a "Motorola Surfboard" router hooked up to my PC. I am frustrated I can't seem to get my router set up!!! I go to the choice for a Motorola router and both Mozilla & Internet Explorer say the page cannot be displayed / network timeout. Any suggestions while I wait on my support ticket to be addressed???? Thanks so much...
    • CommentAuthorrotblitz
    • CommentTimeJan 10th 2010
    "trying to get DNS set up on my home computer"
    Did you try to configure the OpenDNS server addresses in your PC's network connection or on the router?

"both Mozilla & Internet Explorer say the page cannot be displayed / network timeout"
    What page are you talking about?
  2.  permalink
    OK I'm computer-stupid in a really bad way just to let you know up front! Bare with me....

"Did you try to configure the OpenDNS server addresses in your PC's network connection or on the router?"

I tried both. I tried the router option first, as the tutorial suggests on home computers, and after I chose my router (Motorola)--this is the page that wouldn't display (the motorola IP address given on the "Change your DNS: Configuration for Motorola" page--wouldn't display). So then I tried to go through the option to "Change DNS on my computer" but when I got to step 5, the option checked "Internet Prtoocol (TCP / IP)" is NOT (checked) so I couldn't move on to the next step....